It is not a world of men

I wanted Jack Daniels on the rocks. A double. When the waitress arrived I said “Jack, rocks, double.” She looked at me like I was an alien. I repeated it.

The girl said “Seven and Seven?” Apropos of nothing.

“No,” I said “Jack Daniels on the rocks and make it a double please.”

“Jack and Coke?”

I made strange hand motions and said “Glass. Jack Daniels. Ice. That’s all.”

She nodded with blank eyes and walked away. Some time later she wiggled her tight ass back to the table and set a glass in front of me. It contained, I think, some no-name bourbon and Coke. I drank it.

The girl next to me ordered something called ‘tie me to the bed post’. It was blue and smelled like sugar and fruit. The waitress had no issues with that drink.

This is not a world of men.

I hate to think what would have happened if I had ordered Wild Turkey, neat.

The review copies from Future Tense came. I’m reading now and will be reviewing soon. I love free books. Free books are the best thing in the world.

I am loving the Waits Bukowski title more every minute.

I may start a blog to write about writing the book. Maybe I will keep a diary of my progress every day. It will be almost like two books in one.

I have something new at Lit Up Magazine.

This is interesting

7 Comments

  1. I love the line “This is not a world of men,” but I do think it’s worth mentioning that a girl ordering a drink called “Tie me to the bed post” is more about the name, probably, than the drink, and that, with drinks in the world with names like these, it is entirely a man’s world.

    Like

    • Your point is well taken, but I miss the days when you could go to a bar and order a whiskey (or whisky, depending on your taste) and not confuse them.

      Like

      • Oh, and I must mention how happy, excited, etc I am that Molly Gaudry read my blog!

        Like

  2. good stuff, nate

    Like

  3. If you did that it would be like cyber – Nausea.

    Like

    • That’s actually pretty close, I think.

      Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

